[dfads params='groups=4969&limit=1&orderby=random']

Incumbents find rough road in municipal primaries voting

Piccolo finishes 4th in Price, Parsons faces challenge after 2nd place finish in East Carbon

By Rick Sherman
Sun Advocate Reporter

Longtime Price Mayor Joe Piccolo finished fourth in Tuesday’s Municipal Primary Election, according to unofficial results posted on the Carbon County website.
The Election Summary Report shows with all precincts counted, Michael Kourianos finished first in the five-way race with 374 votes, or 37.97 percent of the ballots cast. Rick Adams came in second with 202 votes for 20.51 percent, followed by current Council Member Rick Davis with 141 votes for 14.31 percent. Mayor Piccolo was next with 137 votes, or 13.91 percent, then Boyd Marsing, who got 131 votes or 13.30 percent of the vote.
The top two will go head-to-head for the office of mayor in the November general election.
The balloting for Price City Council was essentially a personality contest, since the four candidates will be vying for two available council seats in the general election.
Incumbent Terry Willis topped the field with 483 votes, followed by Amy Knott-Jesperson with 391. Joe Christman was close behind with 382, then Jesse Sloan who received 282 votes.
The ballots were printed before a fifth candidate, Leif Nelson dropped out of the race to accept an appointment to fill the council seat vacated by Wayne Clausing. A notice was posted on all voting machines advising that Nelson was no longer a candidate and a vote for him would not be counted. Nevertheless, he received 123 votes.
In East Carbon, Harry Goslin Jr. outpolled Incumbent Mayor Doug Parsons 64.84 percent to 25 percent. James Smith garnered 10.16 percent of the vote. Parsons and Goslin will square off in the general election.
Six candidates were in the running for East Carbon City Council. Larry Wood topped the field with 30.14 percent of the vote, followed by Karla C. Young with 25.05 percent. Donald McCarty III was third with 16.83 percent, and Philip Holt placed fourth with 16.24 percent.
Ella Morris and Ronald E. Johnson each garnered less than 10 percent of the vote. The top four will compete for two seats on the council in the general election.
In the race for Utah’s Third Congressional District, Carbon County Republicans favored Chris Herrod with 40.45 percent of the vote, compared to John Curtis’ 38.64 percent. Tanner Ainge received 20.91 percent of the vote in Carbon County. Curtis declared victory in the race district-wide, although thousands of ballots had yet to be counted.
Of the 10,783 registered voters in Carbon County, 1,590 ballots were cast for a turnout of 14.75 percent.
The results won’t be official until the canvass of the election August 24 at noon.

[dfads params='groups=1745&limit=1&orderby=random']
scroll to top