[dfads params='groups=4969&limit=1&orderby=random']

Carbon teams open play in Logan today



By Sun Advocate

A Wellington pitcher follows through after a pitch at the Wellington-Carbon White minor league playoff game.

Two Carbon Western Base-Ball Association (WBBA) all-star teams, Carbon Blue and Carbon White, are participating in the 51st annual WBBA little world series in Logan this week.
Twelve teams are involved in the week-long meet being played on two miniature diamonds in the northern Utah city. The teams are divided into pool play for action beginning Tuesday and play will continue to a conclusion on Saturday.
The two local teams departed for Logan Monday morning where they will enjoy dinner at an opening night social at the Willow West Rotary Bowery.
Tuesday morning opening ceremonies with all teams present and in uniform will take place at the Dahle Park field at 8:30 a.m. Games following will be take place at Dahle Park and Lundstrom Park, with pool play the first three days.
Carbon White will open play Tuesday morning in pool three at 10:15 a.m. against Syracuse on the Dahle Park field. The other two teams in pool three include Idaho Falls Westside and Logan.
Carbon Blue will be playing in pool two, facing Vernal Red at 2:15 p.m, also at Dahle Park. The other teams in pool two are Kearns West and Ammon, Idaho.
The teams in pool one of the tournament are Morgan, Cache Valley, Vernal Blue and Grantsville.
Teams in each pool play each other through the first three days of the meet, with the semi-finals scheduled for Friday and the championship game on Saturday afternoon. All teams in the tournament will play each day of the five-day tournament regardless of win or loss records.
Players on the Carbon Blue team making the trip to Logan include: Dylan Vogrenic, Jaren McCourt, Jordan Blanc, Seth Tryon, Derek Young, Jacob Nichols, Julian Tamllos, Tyler Johnson, Josh Jones, Dusty Blackham, Patrick Warrren and Michael Cordova. The coaches are Al Vogrinec, Jeff Blanc and Scott Warren.
Members of the Carbon White team are Jamin VanSickle, Wyatt Hansen, Daulton Nelson, Dalan Weber, Marcus Montoya, Nick Rukavina, Tyler Procarione, Bryce Blackburn, Dakota Cisneros, Kayden Feichko and Bryce Jackman. Their coaches are Kraig Blackburn, Chad Feichko and Brent VanSickle.

[dfads params='groups=1745&limit=1&orderby=random']
scroll to top